Arlington Women's Center

Overall Rating

Rating: 5/5 Stars.
(10 Total Reviews)

1625 N George Mason Drive, Suite 325
Arlington, VA 22205

(703) 717-4600

Leave a Review

Your email address will not be published.

Reviews

  1. optimized360 says:
    Nikki H.
    Jan, 7th, 2017

    I switched to this practice as a midwife only patient when I was pregnant with my second child. My first child was delivered with what I now consider an unnecessary c-section and I was determined to have a VBAC. All the midwives were extremely supportive and took the time to answer my many, many questions. I usually was seen within a few minutes and never waited longer than 30 min (which was fine with me). The front office staff was easy to work with. I ended up delivering my baby with Michelle, the newest midwife on staff. She was incredible and helped me achieve my desired VBAC! I will also say that the hospital was great, during delivery and postpartum. I had the first child at VHC about four years ago and I definitely noticed lots of good improvements in the nursing staff care.

  2. optimized360 says:
    Kira Y.
    Dec, 21st, 2016

    I have been going to Arlington Women’s Center for several years for my regular yearly appointments, and have been happy with my service, during that time primarily seeing Dr. Rohn. Now that I am expecting my first child, and of course going on a more frequent basis, I am still happy with this office. The front desk staff is fine, I have been happy with the responsiveness of the nurses when I call the nurses line with questions. At the office, they have both Doctors and Midwives, during my pregnancy (and for delivery), I have not had a preference as to who I see since when delivery comes, there is no guarantee my primary would be scheduled for labor and delivery at that time, so I wanted to meet everyone during my pregnancy. I have been happy with every doctor and every midwife I have met with so far. All of my questions have been answered, and my husband and I feel very comfortable in their care, and delivering at Virginia Hospital Center. The two negatives during my experience have been the $5 parking fee for every appointment which gets more frequent the farther you are into your pregnancy. I understand it but it’s a bit annoying to pay it every visit for 9 long months of appointments. The other is the $50 fee I was charged for the office filling out my FMLA & Short term disability paperwork for my employer for maternity leave. I fully expected a fee for filling it out, as it would take a few minutes for them to do, but I was expecting $25 or less…. so $50 was QUITE a surprise. These things are not deal breakers for me and I continue to be happy with my care at this office which is most important to me.

  3. optimized360 says:
    Chris T.
    Dec, 10th, 2016

    I started coming to Dr. Colon for irregular menstrual cycles and we found some issues on the way. He was very detailed and thorough explaining what is going on with me and what the next steps were, he even walks me to the front to check out.

    I then discovered I was pregnant and started seeing him for OB care, again very thorough. I even had to have an appendectomy in the first trimester and AWC stayed in touch with the ER Drs and surgeon. Dr. Colon even went to check up on me the next day and I expressed my concern about being way too groggy with the anesthesia and I couldn’t hear my baby’s heartbeat; he came back and checked it and reassured me that my baby was ok.

    I’ve had some other issues and they are always accommodating with problem appointments. The girls at the front desk don’t have a rude bone in their bodies because there have been times where I come in with an attitude and never felt like they’ve returned it. I haven’t been the easiest patient to deal with and they always deal with it in a very professional manner.

    The wait is not bad at all. I get there and I’m called back within 10 minutes of sitting there.

    Dr. Crawthers is also very sweet, she has been seeing me lately for a different complication and she’s also detailed and explains what’s going on. Sweet bedside manner and makes me feel comfortable.

    I love AWC and will continue to see them.

  4. optimized360 says:
    Leah C.
    Nov, 23rd, 2016

    I switched to this practice 6 years ago after multiple cold interactions at Capitol Womens Care including what I believe was an unnecessary C-section in retrospect. Dr. Karen King is the best but I have liked every other doctor in the practice as well. I was able to have an amazing 2nd pregnancy even while being considered high risk for part of it and had the successful VBAC I had been hoping for. 6 years ago at my postpartum visit from my C-section, I was told by CWC that they generally do not do VBACs and they would be scheduling by next C-section when I was 38 weeks pregnant with a future child. AWC and Karen King took the time to listen to my health history and felt open to a VBAC which helped me feel comfortable that either way my 2nd baby was born that I had the support I needed.

  5. optimized360 says:
    Dory H.
    Feb, 9th, 2016

    Midwives are exceptional! Always a good experience.

  6. optimized360 says:
    Jo H.
    May, 12th, 2015

    I love the doctors and midwives at Arlington Women’s Center. They have always supported me with my birth plans and when those plans go awry, they are always there for me. Dr. Rohn has an amazing bedside matter and I would definitely go with her again if I had to have surgery. Karen and Melissa are awesome midwives and I wish I had them in my birthing room. Their prenatal care was top notch and so warm. I highly recommend this practice.

  7. optimized360 says:
    Beth M.
    Dec, 19th, 2014

    I never have a problem getting an appointment with the midwives. The nurses are professional and nice and were very comforting when I came in the same day because I was worried I couldn’t feel my baby. I’ve been to plenty of OBGYN’s and Dr’s offices in DC and am always shocked by how rude everyone is, especially the receptionists. AWC is nothing like I’ve ever experienced before; all of the receptionists have been very accommodating and pleasant.

    One front desk staff even promised to call me as soon as the next month’s sonogram calendar opened (because it wasn’t while I was there) and she remembered 3 weeks later and called me to make sure I got my appt. To me, that’s great customer service. I also like that I can call to speak with a nurse about any issue; they’ve been very patient and supportive so far.

    Regarding wait times, the nurses have always called me in on time. Only twice (in 7 months) did I wait 30 minutes to see my midwife. Not the end of the world; I get they are busy and some women have more questions than others. Just recently they called me in early and I was in and out before my actual appt time even started.

    I can’t comment yet on billing or actual delivery, but so far I’ve been extremely happy. This is exactly the experience I need while going through pregnancy.

  8. optimized360 says:
    Gwen B.
    Nov, 3rd, 2014

    I have been going to Arlington Women’s Center for the last 7 years and am about to finish up my first pregnancy.

    I see Karen King and she is absolutely FANTASTIC! I have met the other midwives and doctors in the practice who are all pretty great in my opinion, but I am biased since I have been seeing Karen since 2007. She is always wonderful, caring, and a pleasure to speak with. Even when she is busy, I never feel rushed and her calming attitude has alleviated any stresses I’ve had since I got pregnant. Since I’ve been going through my pregnancy, I have been dealing with Melissa a lot as well and she is great too.

    Of course, the waiting times can be long but I have never been to a doctor’s office where that never happens. I personally haven’t had to wait super long more than a few times and usually there’s a good reason such as my doctor was on-call all night with multiple deliveries.

    The front office staff is efficient and nice, no complaints there. Overall, I HIGHLY recommend this practice and a few of my friends have already switched because of my positive experiences!

  9. optimized360 says:
    Celia W.
    Oct, 30th, 2012

    I cannot tell you how amazing this place is. The doctors are incredibly competent, knowledgeable, and they make you feel very at ease (even in very uncomfortable procedures). The office staff are friendly and are awesome at officey stuff (that’s a technical term). The facilities are clean and well maintained. I’ve never had a better lady doctor’s office or a better lady doctor.

  10. optimized360 says:
    Anonymous
    May, 23rd, 2012

    Dr. Born is great, she is friendly and takes the time to answer questions.